Goodbye 2013


Another year has come and went again. It seems like only yesterday that it began. 2013 was great for me professionally. I saw way to publish three additional Agnes Barton mysteries this year, and all of them have gone on to become bestsellers in the cozy mystery category on Amazon. I promoted my books highly and two of my books crawled into the top hundred overall on Amazon. In November with a Book Bub ad, my third book, Senior Snoops, made it to the #15 spot overall on Amazon. It also made it to #2 on Barnes and Noble. Armed and Outrageous during a similar promo in October was #21 overall, both books were #1 for cozy mystery at the time. In retrospect, I sold tens of thousands of books in 2013 and some called me a mid-lister. I have all of my readers to thank for my success. I continue to focus on my Agnes Barton series and should have book 5 available in late January 2014. What a great way to start a new year.

1485988_10151947415196925_1523024590_o

 

In life sometime you have to take the good with the bad. In September 7, 2013 I lost the love of my life and father of my children to suicide. At first I was afraid to let anyone know how or why died. The why still hasn’t been determined, but I felt it important to share my sad news publicly with the hopes that it might help someone else. I don’t just share my books with my readers, I share my life. Depression is the most harmful thing to many people and I’m here to tell you that you’re not alone. We tried with everything in us to get this man help, but it just became overwhelming for him and he made the ultimate decision that will forever alter not only my life, but the lives of my children who are both under the age of eighteen. I truly believe that he was not in his right mind when he did it and neither is anyone else who decides to go that route. You can’t pull anyone out of depression, even with medications, they really need to pull themselves out of it. We all have our own worries, but you shouldn’t ever let them overtake your life. Suicide is so harmful for those left behind and I carry my own guilt at not being able to save his life. What I’ve come to realize is that it just wasn’t within my power to do. Never let a day go by without saying I love you to those you do. On the upside if there is one, is that me and the children are doing much better. I appreciate everyone who reached out to me during this time of sorrow. 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

In the aftermath, I made the following decisions… I went ahead and edited my first romance novel that Tirgearr Publishing published, Redneck Romance. I have since struggled to reach the romance readers, but I’ll never give up the fight. All summer I had stalled writing because of all the stress I was under, but in September, I finished my fourth Agnes Barton book and published it in November. Also in November I did NANOWRIMO and wrote my fifth Agnes Barton book, Treasure in Tawas, which will be published in late January 2014. For those of you not familiar with NaNo, you basically write a 50,000 word book in 30 days, it’s more of a challenge and it’s the first time I actually made it. On an average, I actually frequently write a book in four to five weeks. 

cover

I’m ready to say goodbye to 2013 and welcome 2014 with open arms. In January I’ll be turning the big 5-0, which is scary to me, but I’ll embrace as I firmly have my foot in the publishing door. I’m currently working on a crossover mystery featuring Agnes Barton and Eleanor Mason who come to the aid of, Kimberly Steele, from my romance Novella, Pretty and Pregnant. It’s proven quite interesting and I’m approaching it from a much different point of view. I also takes off where Pretty and Pregnant left off. I’m hoping to finish it next month. I also have a paranormal book I have 14,000 words started with a different cast of characters, and I’m developing a new series, which I hope makes it to completion. I want to again thank everyone who has helped or encouraged me during my publishing journey. I promise this is only the beginning!

One thought on “Goodbye 2013

Leave a Reply

